Every watch at this price claims luminous hands. Almost none tells you what the luminous material actually is — and the ones that do are not the brands you would expect.
The Vaer C5 Recon Field Solar publishes more about its lume than anything else here: C3 SuperLuminova, 25 layers, on the hands as well as the dial. The Laco Augsburg 39 and the Baltic Aquascaphe also name the grade — C3 and C1 respectively. Seiko names its compound LumiBrite but publishes no grade; Citizen and Orient say only "luminous" and name nothing at all; and the Timex Weekender has no lume to speak of, because it uses an INDIGLO backlight instead.
Lume is the specification buyers ask about most and manufacturers describe worst. Walk through any product listing in this price range and you will read "luminous hands and markers" over and over, which tells you that something on the dial glows and absolutely nothing about what it is, how much of it there is, or how long it lasts.
This page does the only honest version of a lume comparison available without a light meter: it reports what each maker publishes, in the maker's own words, read from the maker's own product page. Every quotation below was taken on 2026-10-07.
The result inverts the usual hierarchy. The three brands that publish the exact compound and its grade are the three smallest — Vaer, Laco and Baltic. Seiko names its own compound and stops. Citizen and Orient name nothing. And one well-known watch on this list has no meaningful lume at all, because Timex solved the problem a different way in the 1990s and never went back.
On prices: every buy button on this page reads its figure from the live price layer and stamps the date it was checked, or else reads "Check price on Amazon". No price is written into this text. Service figures quoted here are the manufacturers' own published rates.
How we picked
We have not worn these watches. What follows is what we checked instead, on documents you can open yourself — the same criteria, in the same order, on every roundup on this site. The full method is on the methodology page.
01Does the maker name the compound
Super-LumiNova, LumiBrite, or just the word "luminous". Quoted from the maker's own product page, because the exact wording is the finding.
02Does it name the grade
C1, C3, BGW9. A grade is the only part of a lume specification that means something precise, and most brands at this price never print one.
03Where it is applied
Hands, indexes, bezel. A bezel pip you cannot see at night makes the elapsed-time function useless in the dark, and only one watch here has its bezel lume stated.
04Is it lume at all
A photoluminescent pigment charges in light and glows on its own. An electroluminescent backlight needs a button and a battery. They are different products solving the same problem.
05Everything else about the watch
Lume is one specification. A watch with superb lume and a mineral crystal, 30m or no published service price is still that watch, and we say so on every pick.
Disclosure · Some links below are Amazon affiliate links. If you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not decide what goes on this page or in what order — here is exactly how that works.
Quick picks
Ranked on the Keep Score below — six published specifications, weighted identically on every page. The last row is the one we would not buy.
#
Watch
Best for
Keep Score
Price
1
VA
Vaer C5 Recon Field Solar 40mm
C3 SuperLuminova, 25 layers, on the hands too — and Vaer publishes all of it.
Keep Score is arithmetic, not opinion — six published specifications, weighted the same way on every page. The formula is on our methodology page, so you can re-run it yourself.
01
Vaer C5 Recon Field Solar 40mm
Best for: The most completely specified lume here
Vaer40mmsapphireNo product photo. We do not stage or license images of watches we have not handled.
We earn nothing on this link. Vaer sells it directly.
Vaer states the compound, the grade and the build: "The dial features 25x layers C3 SuperLuminova", and separately that "The hour, minute, and second hand also has C3 lume." Nobody else on this page publishes a layer count, and almost nobody states the hands and the dial separately.
The rest of the watch earns its place independently: sapphire, a screw-down crown, 100m, a published accuracy of -10/+20 seconds a month, and 10.4mm thick, which is thin for a solar field watch. Vaer states it is assembled in the United States and gives a two-year warranty it describes as a guaranteed waterproof warranty.
Three costs. Vaer sells direct, so there is no buy button here and we earn nothing if you buy it. 100m with no diver's certification means this is a field watch, not a diver. And Vaer's own "Lume Performance Rating = 9/10" is a number on an in-house scale with no published method — treat the C3 and the layer count as the real information and that figure as marketing.
Sapphire, a locking screw-down crown, 100m and a published accuracy of -10/+20 seconds a month in a case 10.4mm thick. Vaer states it is assembled in the United States. Sold direct; we earn nothing on it.
Manufacturer specifications for the Vaer C5 Recon Field Solar 40mm
Movement
Epson VS-42 solar quartz, -10/+20 sec per month, six-month power reserve
Power reserve
Not published
Case
40mm 316l stainless steel
Lug-to-lug
48mm
Thickness
10.4mm
Lug width
20mm
Crystal
sapphire
Water resistance
100m
Warranty
2 years
Vaer describes its two-year warranty as a guaranteed waterproof warranty on this product page.
We earn nothing on this link. Laco sells it directly.
Laco publishes the grade twice over, for the numerals and for the hands as separate statements. On a Type A flieger — a pattern designed so a navigator could read it instantly in a dark cockpit — that is the specification the whole watch exists to serve, and Laco is one of the five original 1940s suppliers of it.
A 39mm case with a 46.5mm lug-to-lug, sapphire front and back, and a Miyota base any independent watchmaker can service. The dial layout does more for night legibility than the compound does: oversized numerals, a clear minute track, nothing else on the dial.
Two real limits. 5 ATM is the weak line on the whole watch — this is a dry-land piece, not something to swim in. And Laco states no warranty term at all on the product page, which is worse than Baltic, worse than Spinnaker and far worse than Seiko. Sold direct, so no buy button from us.
Sapphire front and back, 46.5mm lug-to-lug and a Miyota base any independent can service. Laco states no warranty term on the product page and 5 ATM is the weak line — this is a dry-land watch.
Manufacturer specifications for the Laco Augsburg 39
Movement
Laco 2S automatic, based on the Miyota 82S0, hacking seconds
We earn nothing on this link. Baltic sells it directly.
Baltic prints the compound and the grade — Super-LumiNova C1 — which no mainstream diver on this site does. For a watch whose elapsed-time bezel is meant to be read underwater, publishing the specification rather than the adjective is the difference that matters.
The watch around it is the best-proportioned 200m diver here: 39mm with a 47mm lug-to-lug, 13mm thick, a double-domed sapphire crystal and a sapphire bezel insert that neither fades like aluminum nor chips like ceramic.
C1 is a different grade from the C3 that Laco and Vaer use, and we are not going to tell you which is brighter because neither maker publishes an output figure. Baltic also sells direct — no buy button, no commission to us — and states no warranty term on this particular product page, where its GMT page states two years.
The sapphire bezel insert is the part that matters for keeping: aluminum inserts fade and ceramic chips, and this does neither. Baltic sells direct, so there is no buy button here from us.
Manufacturer specifications for the Baltic Aquascaphe Classic
Movement
Miyota 9039 automatic
Power reserve
42 hours
Case
39mm 316l stainless steel
Lug-to-lug
47mm
Thickness
13mm
Lug width
20mm
Crystal
sapphire
Water resistance
200m
Warranty
Not stated by the manufacturer
Baltic does not state a warranty term on this product page.
#adAffiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today
Seiko states exactly where the LumiBrite goes, and on the Alpinist SPB317 that includes the bezel. Every other watch on this page is specified for hands and markers only. A luminous bezel pip is what makes an elapsed-time bezel usable in the dark, and it is the single most useful thing in this comparison.
It is also the best watch here by every other measure this site uses: sapphire, 200m, a 70-hour 6R35 with a published tolerance of plus 25 to minus 15 seconds a day, a 46.9mm lug-to-lug on a 41mm case, three years of warranty and a published $296 overhaul price.
LumiBrite is Seiko's own name for its compound and Seiko publishes no grade and no output figure for it, so you are trusting the brand rather than reading a specification. And it is the most expensive watch on this page by a wide margin.
This is where Seiko starts publishing an accuracy figure (+25/-15 seconds a day) and fits sapphire. A 6R35 overhaul is $296 against $176 for a 4R36 — a real difference, and one you can plan for.
Manufacturer specifications for the Seiko Prospex Alpinist SPB317J1
Movement
Seiko 6R35, automatic with manual winding, 24 jewels, +25/-15 sec per day
The same named compound as the Alpinist, on the cheapest watch on this site that carries Seiko's diver's marking — the ISO 6425 regime rather than a plain depth figure. For a watch that will actually go in the water at night, that combination is the practical answer here.
A 45mm cushion case rated 200m with a screw-down crown, a 4R36 that hacks and hand-winds, three years of warranty, and Seiko's published $176 overhaul — the cheapest named service path in this comparison by a clear margin.
Seiko states hands and indexes only for this reference, not the bezel, so the Alpinist is specified better on the one thing this page is about. The crystal is Hardlex rather than sapphire, and 45mm is a large watch that will overhang a small wrist.
Seiko rates this at 200m as a diver's watch, not merely water-resistant — screw-down crown, screw case back, unidirectional bezel. The 45mm figure is misleading: the cushion case has no protruding lugs.
Manufacturer specifications for the Seiko Prospex Turtle SRPE93
Movement
Seiko 4R36, automatic with manual winding, 24 jewels
Spinnaker names the compound and its origin — "Swiss Super-LumiNova" — and lists it in the specifications as "Applied Index With Luminous", meaning raised markers rather than printed ones. Among the watches here that you can buy on Amazon with a return window, it is the only one whose maker names the compound at all.
Sapphire, a screw-lock crown, 180m and a stated two-year international warranty, at the lowest money on this page.
No grade is published, so "Swiss Super-LumiNova" is one step better than "luminous" and one step short of Baltic's C1. The rest of the spec sheet is the real caution: Spinnaker does not name the movement, publishes no power reserve, and the case is 15mm thick with a 50mm lug-to-lug.
Sapphire and a stated two-year warranty at this price is a good trade. 15mm thick and 50mm across the lugs is not — this is a big watch, and the spec sheet says so plainly.
Manufacturer specifications for the Spinnaker Bradner SP-5062-33
Movement
Japanese automatic, three hands with date
Power reserve
Not published
Case
42mm stainless steel
Lug-to-lug
50mm
Thickness
15mm
Lug width
20mm
Crystal
sapphire
Water resistance
180m
Warranty
2 years
Spinnaker states a two-year international warranty on this product page.
This is the pattern that made this page necessary. Orient's product page says "luminescent hands and hour markers" and lists "Luminous Hour Markers and Hands" as a feature, and that is the entire specification. No compound, no grade, no coverage detail.
It is still one of the best watches on this site and we say so everywhere else: sapphire, 200m, a screw-down crown, a 120-click unidirectional bezel and an in-house F6922 that hacks and hand-winds, with three years of warranty.
So buy it for every other reason and treat the lume as unknown. Citizen is no better — the Promaster BN0200's page states only "Luminous Hands and Markers" — and neither brand publishes a service price either.
On paper this is the best value in the category and it is not close: sapphire and a hacking, hand-windable in-house caliber at a price where Seiko still fits Hardlex. Orient's three-year warranty is longer than Hamilton's or Tissot's.
Manufacturer specifications for the Orient Kamasu RA-AA0004E39B
Timex states it plainly: "Developed by Timex in the early 90s, our INDIGLO® backlight allows you to tell the time in the dark with the push of a button." That is a different technology from everything else on this page — the whole dial lights up electrically on demand instead of a pigment glowing on its own after charging in daylight.
For some uses it is strictly better. It does not fade over the night, it does not need to be charged under a lamp first, and it works just as well at 4am as at midnight. If your actual requirement is "read the time in a dark room", a backlight answers it more reliably than any lume here.
The trade is that it needs a hand free and a button press, so it is useless for glancing at your wrist, and it draws on the battery. The rest of the watch is a 38mm brass case with a mineral crystal rated 30m and a one-year warranty — it is a cheap watch that does one thing unusually well, not a watch to keep. Timex's other watches here, like the Expedition Pioneer Automatic, use ordinary lume and describe it only as "Luminescent in-fill".
A brass case at 30m, with a warranty that excludes the crystal, the strap, the case and the battery — which is to say almost everything that fails. Buy it as a strap-swapping toy, not as a watch to keep.
Manufacturer specifications for the Timex Weekender 38mm T2N647
Movement
Quartz analog, CR2016 battery
Power reserve
Not applicable
Case
38mm brass and llb
Lug-to-lug
Not published
Thickness
Not published
Lug width
20mm
Crystal
mineral
Water resistance
30m
Warranty
1 year
Timex's one-year warranty explicitly excludes the crystal, strap, case and battery.
Every quotation read from the manufacturer's own product page on 2026-10-07. "Not stated" means the maker publishes nothing about that item, which is not the same as the watch lacking it.
Watch
Maker's own wording
Compound named
Grade named
Bezel stated
Vaer C5 Recon Field Solar
"25x layers C3 SuperLuminova"; hands "also has C3 lume"
Yes
Yes, C3
No rotating bezel
Laco Augsburg 39
"Numbers and figures with Superluminova C3"; "hands filled with Superluminova C3"
Yes
Yes, C3
No rotating bezel
Baltic Aquascaphe Classic
"Super-LumiNova® C1"
Yes
Yes, C1
Not stated
Seiko Prospex Alpinist SPB317
"LumiBrite on hands, index(es) and bezel"
Yes, proprietary
No
Yes
Seiko Prospex Turtle SRPE93
"LumiBrite on hands and index(es)"
Yes, proprietary
No
Not stated
Seiko 5 Sports SRPD55
"LumiBrite on hands and index(es)"
Yes, proprietary
No
Not stated
Hamilton Khaki Field Murph 38
"Super Luminova: Yes"
Yes
No
Not stated
Spinnaker Bradner
"Swiss Super-LumiNova"; "Applied Index With Luminous"
Yes
No
Not stated
BOLDR Venture Titanium
Dial and hands with "Japan Superlume"
Partially
No
No rotating bezel
Citizen Promaster Diver BN0200
"Luminous Hands and Markers"
No
No
Not stated
Orient Kamasu
"Luminescent hands and hour markers"
No
No
Not stated
Timex Expedition Pioneer Auto
"Luminescent in-fill on the hands and markers"
No
No
Not stated
Timex Weekender
INDIGLO backlight, "with the push of a button"
Not lume
Not lume
Not applicable
Every quotation read from the manufacturer's own product page on 2026-10-07. "Not stated" means the maker publishes nothing about that item, which is not the same as the watch lacking it.
Why the grade is the only part that means anything
Super-LumiNova is sold in graded variants, and the grade is a product code rather than a marketing adjective — C1 and C3 are different products from the same supplier family. When a maker prints the grade, you are reading a specification. When it prints "luminous", you are reading a description of the category.
That is the whole practical value of this page, and it is why the ranking above looks upside down. Vaer, Laco and Baltic are the three smallest companies here and the only three that print a grade. Seiko prints a proprietary name, LumiBrite, which at least identifies a specific material even though no grade or output figure accompanies it. Citizen, Orient and Timex print an adjective.
What none of them publishes is a measurement. There is no luminance figure, no decay curve and no standard test result on any of these thirteen product pages. That is why this page sorts on disclosure rather than performance — ranking them on brightness would require a light meter and a dark room, and this site does not publish numbers it has not got a source for. Our methodology page sets out the rule.
Where the lume is matters as much as what it is
Almost every maker here specifies hands and markers. Only one — Seiko, on the Alpinist SPB317 — also states the bezel, and that omission is more consequential than it sounds on a dive watch.
The point of a unidirectional bezel is to mark the time you started something and read the elapsed minutes at a glance. In daylight it works on any diver. In the dark it only works if the pip at 12 glows, so you can see where the bezel is set relative to the minute hand. A 200m diver with luminous hands and an unlit bezel is a watch you can read the time on at night and cannot time anything with.
This does not mean the other divers here have unlit bezels — most dive watches put lume in the pip — it means their makers do not say so, and this site does not fill in what a manufacturer leaves out. If elapsed timing in the dark is the job, check the bezel pip before you buy. Our are dive watches worth it page covers what the diver's certification does and does not cover.
Lume and a backlight are not the same product
A photoluminescent pigment absorbs light and re-emits it. It needs to be charged — a few minutes under a lamp or in daylight — and it is brightest in the first minutes after charging, fading through the night. It needs no battery and no action from you.
An electroluminescent backlight, which is what Timex's INDIGLO is, lights the dial electrically when you press a button. It does not fade, it does not need charging, and it does not care whether the watch has been in a drawer for a week. It does need a free hand and it draws on the battery.
Decide which problem you have. Waking at 3am and wanting the time is a backlight problem. Glancing at your wrist in a dim restaurant, or reading elapsed time with both hands busy, is a lume problem. Nothing at this price does both well, and no page that lists them in the same ranking without saying so is being straight with you.
Dial design beats compound, every time
The Laco is the clearest demonstration. Its lume is C3, the same grade Vaer uses, but what makes it readable in the dark is that the dial carries oversized Arabic numerals, a clear minute track and nothing else. There is no date window interrupting the ring, no chapter of small text, no second subdial.
Against that, a busy dial with excellent lume on three small applied markers gives you less. Surface area is the variable nobody specifies: a thick baton filled with C1 will out-glow a thin stick filled with C3, and no product page will ever tell you that. If night legibility is genuinely the reason you are buying, look at a photograph of the dial at actual size before you look at the compound. The same argument applies in reverse on our best skeleton watches page, where an open dial removes the flat background that makes hands readable at all.
What about tritium
Tritium gas tubes glow continuously for years without being charged, because the light is produced by radioactive decay rather than stored daylight. They are the correct answer for permanent low-level night visibility, and they are the reason some brands advertise a 25-year glow.
No watch on this site uses them. Tritium tube watches sit in a different part of the market, and we do not list a product we have not verified against the maker's own documentation — so rather than describe a category we do not cover, this page tells you plainly that if continuous unaided glow is a hard requirement, none of these eight watches is the answer.
What to buy
You want the most completely specified lume and will buy direct: the Vaer C5 Recon Field Solar. C3, 25 layers, hands included, and sapphire with a screw-down crown around it.
You want maximum night legibility from the dial design: the Laco Augsburg 39. C3 on numerals and hands, in the pattern built for exactly this. Keep it out of the water.
You want a published grade on a real diver: the Baltic Aquascaphe. C1, 200m, sapphire bezel insert, 39mm.
You want the bezel lit, and the best watch overall: the Seiko Prospex Alpinist SPB317 — the only watch here whose maker states LumiBrite on the bezel.
You want it certified, cheap to service, and on Amazon: the Seiko Prospex Turtle SRPE93, on a published $176 overhaul.
You want a named compound at the lowest money, on Amazon: the Spinnaker Bradner. Swiss Super-LumiNova, 180m, sapphire — and 15mm thick.
You actually want to read the time in a pitch-dark room: the Timex Weekender's INDIGLO backlight, and accept that it is a cheap watch doing one trick well.
If the lume specification is standing in for a broader question — which of these watches is simply the most durable — our most durable watches page ranks the same registry on crystal, case, water resistance and crown. And for the parallel version of this exercise on a different specification, microbrand watches with sapphire and 200m asks which makers publish the crystal and the water rating rather than the lume.
Questions people actually ask
Which watch here has the best lume?+
Nobody can answer that from published data, because no manufacturer on this page publishes a luminance or decay figure. What can be answered is which is best specified: the Vaer C5 Recon Field Solar, which states C3 SuperLuminova, 25 layers, and C3 on the hands as well.
What is the difference between LumiBrite and Super-LumiNova?+
LumiBrite is Seiko's own name for its luminous material; Super-LumiNova is the name used by the brands that buy theirs in, such as Baltic, Laco, Hamilton and Spinnaker. Seiko publishes no grade for LumiBrite, while Super-LumiNova is sold in graded variants that some makers print and some do not.
What do C1 and C3 mean?+
They are grade codes for different Super-LumiNova variants. Laco and Vaer state C3; Baltic states C1. We do not rank them against each other, because neither maker publishes an output figure and a comparison would be invented.
Is INDIGLO the same as lume?+
No. INDIGLO is an electroluminescent backlight that lights the dial when you press a button, which Timex has used since the early 1990s. Lume is a pigment that charges in light and glows on its own afterwards. The backlight does not fade through the night; the lume does not need a free hand.
Why do Citizen and Orient not say what their lume is?+
They publish only the words "luminous" or "luminescent" on the product pages for the Promaster BN0200 and the Kamasu. Both are excellent watches for other reasons, but on this one specification you are buying an unknown. Neither brand publishes a service price either.
Does a dive watch bezel glow in the dark?+
Usually the pip at 12 does, but only one watch here says so: Seiko states "LumiBrite on hands, index(es) and bezel" for the Alpinist SPB317. For the others the maker is silent, and an unlit bezel pip makes elapsed timing in the dark impossible, so check before you buy.
Sources
Every specification and figure on this page came from one of these documents. Where a manufacturer does not publish something, the page says so rather than filling the gap.