Skip to content
The dial of a chronograph wristwatch photographed close up

Solar chronographs

Best solar chronographs

A chronograph is the complication that uses the most power, which makes it the one where light-charging makes the most sense — and the one where a module's long-term limits matter most.

By Sawyer V. · Published

The short answer

The Citizen Promaster Skyhawk A-T is the most capable solar chronograph here — sapphire, 200m, radio synchronization and five years of warranty. The Citizen World Chronograph A-T does most of it at 43mm, and the Seiko Speedtimer SSC947 is the only one with a published service price: $163 for a V-series.

A running chronograph drains a quartz battery faster than anything else a watch does, which makes it the complication where light-charging earns the most. All three watches below run on light, need no battery changes and no overhaul interval — and all three are modules, which are replaced rather than rebuilt when they eventually fail.

That trade is set out in full on best solar watches. This page ranks the chronographs within it. For mechanical chronographs and what they cost to service, see the mechanical chronograph page.

On prices: we publish no figure we have not verified today, so every buy button reads "Check price on Amazon". Service prices on this page are the manufacturers' own published figures.

How we picked

We have not worn these watches. What follows is what we checked instead, on documents you can open yourself — the same criteria, in the same order, on every roundup on this site. The full method is on the methodology page.

  1. 01Crystal

    All three here have sapphire. Chronograph pushers mean the watch is handled constantly.

  2. 02Water resistance

    200m on both Citizens, 100m on the Seiko. Never operate pushers underwater unless the maker says so.

  3. 03Warranty

    Five years from Citizen, three from Seiko.

  4. 04Service

    Seiko publishes $163 for a V-series. Citizen quotes after inspection.

  5. 05Strap standard

    22mm on the Skyhawk; 21mm on the Seiko and 23mm on the World Chronograph — odd widths, and a permanent strap cost.

Disclosure · Some links below are Amazon affiliate links. If you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not decide what goes on this page or in what order — here is exactly how that works.

Quick picks

Ranked on the Keep Score below — six published specifications, weighted identically on every page. The last row is the one we would not buy.

#WatchBest forKeep ScorePrice
1

Citizen Promaster Skyhawk A-T JY8078-52L

Sapphire, 200m, radio-set, perpetual calendar, five years.

The most capable solar chronograph here8.3/10
Check price
2

Citizen World Chronograph A-T AT8020-54L

Sapphire, 200m, atomic timekeeping, perpetual calendar, power reserve indicator.

Most of the Skyhawk, at 43mm7.9/10
Check price
3

Seiko Prospex Speedtimer Solar Chronograph SSC947

Sapphire, 100m, ±15 seconds a month, six months on a charge.

The one with a published service price7.7/10
Check price

BOLDR Field Medic II

A mecha-quartz chronograph with a battery — and no stated warranty.

Skip this one

Not a solar chronograph6.7/10
Direct only

Keep Score is arithmetic, not opinion — six published specifications, weighted the same way on every page. The formula is on our methodology page, so you can re-run it yourself.

01

Citizen Promaster Skyhawk A-T JY8078-52L

Best for: The most capable solar chronograph here

8.3/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
1.4/2.5
Water resistance
1.5/1.5
Warranty
1.5/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
0.4/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

A chronograph, slide rule, dual time, perpetual calendar and radio synchronization across 43 cities, all running on light behind anti-reflective sapphire and rated to 200m.

45mm across and a module rather than a movement. Citizen's five-year warranty is the longest here.

It sets itself by radio, runs on light and is rated to 200m behind sapphire — and it is a module, not a movement. When the module stops being made, the watch is finished, however good the case still is.

Manufacturer specifications for the Citizen Promaster Skyhawk A-T JY8078-52L
MovementCitizen U680 Eco-Drive, light-powered, radio-synchronized to 43 cities, chronograph, perpetual calendar, dual time
Power reserveNot published
Case45mm stainless steel
Lug-to-lugNot published
ThicknessNot published
Lug width22mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance200m
Warranty5 years

Citizen's five-year limited warranty excludes the power cell, case, bracelet and strap.

Specifications read from Citizen Watch product page, JY8078-52L.

02

Citizen World Chronograph A-T AT8020-54L

Best for: Most of the Skyhawk, at 43mm

7.9/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
1.4/2.5
Water resistance
1.5/1.5
Warranty
1.5/1.5
Strap standard
0.6/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
0.4/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

The World Chronograph A-T runs Citizen's H800 with atomic timekeeping and radio control in five zones, a 1/20-second chronograph, a perpetual calendar and a power reserve indicator, in a 43mm case behind sapphire rated to 200m.

Five years of warranty. The 23mm lug width is the least common strap size on this site.

Sapphire, 200m, a perpetual calendar and a chronograph that runs on light — and a 23mm lug width, which is the least common strap size on this site. It is a module rather than a movement, so its long-term future depends on Citizen continuing to support the H800.

Manufacturer specifications for the Citizen World Chronograph A-T AT8020-54L
MovementCitizen H800 Eco-Drive, light-powered, atomic timekeeping with radio control in five zones, 1/20-second chronograph, perpetual calendar, power reserve indicator
Power reserveNot published
Case43mm two-tone stainless steel
Lug-to-lugNot published
ThicknessNot published
Lug width23mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance200m
Warranty5 years

Citizen's five-year limited warranty excludes the power cell, case, bracelet and strap.

Specifications read from Citizen Watch product page, AT8020-54L.

03

Seiko Prospex Speedtimer Solar Chronograph SSC947

Best for: The one with a published service price

7.7/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
1.4/2.5
Water resistance
1.1/1.5
Warranty
1.05/1.5
Strap standard
0.6/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
1/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

Seiko's V192 solar chronograph publishes ±15 seconds a month and a six-month run on a full charge, and Seiko publishes $163 for a V-series service — the only solar chronograph here whose running cost you can check.

41.4mm at 45.9mm lug-to-lug is the most wearable size here. 21mm lugs and 100m are the trades.

Seiko lists V-series solar service at $163 — cheaper than a 4R36 overhaul and far cheaper than a mechanical chronograph. The 21mm lug width is the annoyance: standard straps come in 20 and 22.

Manufacturer specifications for the Seiko Prospex Speedtimer Solar Chronograph SSC947
MovementSeiko V192 solar chronograph, +/-15 sec per month, six-month run when fully charged
Power reserveNot published
Case41.4mm stainless steel
Lug-to-lug45.9mm
Thickness13mm
Lug width21mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance100m
Warranty3 years

Specifications read from Seiko Watch Corporation product page, SSC947.

Skip this one

BOLDR Field Medic II

Best for: Not a solar chronograph

6.7/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
1.5/2.5
Water resistance
1.5/1.5
Warranty
0/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
0.2/1
Sold direct by BOLDR

We earn nothing on this link. BOLDR sells it directly.

The Field Medic II is often shortlisted beside these as the other low-maintenance chronograph: titanium, sapphire, 200m, 38mm.

It runs a mecha-quartz module on a battery, not light, and BOLDR states no warranty term on the product page. It has the module's limits without the solar watch's advantage.

For titanium, see [best titanium watches](/guides/best-titanium-watches). For a chronograph with a warranty in writing, any of the three above.

Mecha-quartz splits the difference honestly: quartz timekeeping, a mechanical chronograph reset, and a battery any shop stocks. The VK64 is a module — when it dies it is replaced, not rebuilt.

Manufacturer specifications for the BOLDR Field Medic II
MovementSeiko Instruments VK64 mecha-quartz, 394/SR936 battery
Power reserveNot applicable
Case38mm titanium
Lug-to-lug44mm
Thickness12.2mm
Lug width20mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance200m
WarrantyNot stated by the manufacturer

BOLDR does not state a warranty term on this product page.

Specifications read from BOLDR Supply Co. product page, Field Medic II.

Compared

From Citizen's and Seiko's product pages and Seiko's published US service list.
Citizen Skyhawk A-TCitizen World Chronograph A-TSeiko Speedtimer SSC947
Case45mm43mm41.4mm
CrystalSapphireSapphireSapphire
Water200m200m100m
Radio / atomicYes, 43 citiesYes, radio control in 5 zonesNo
Warranty5 years5 years3 years
Published service priceNoneNone$163 (V-series)
Lug width22mm23mm21mm
From Citizen's and Seiko's product pages and Seiko's published US service list.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best solar chronograph?

The Citizen Promaster Skyhawk A-T for capability — sapphire, 200m, radio synchronization and five years of warranty. The Seiko Speedtimer SSC947 if you want a published service price.

Does using the chronograph drain a solar watch?

It uses more power than anything else the watch does, which is why solar charging suits chronographs. Keeping the watch where light reaches it keeps the cell topped up.

Can a solar chronograph be serviced?

Seiko publishes $163 for a V-series service. Citizen quotes after inspection. In both cases the movement is a module, replaced while the part is made.

Is a solar chronograph better than a mechanical one?

Cheaper to own and more accurate — a mechanical 8R chronograph costs $373 to overhaul at Seiko's published price. What you give up is a movement that can be rebuilt indefinitely.

Sources

Every specification and figure on this page came from one of these documents. Where a manufacturer does not publish something, the page says so rather than filling the gap.