Skip to content
The dial of a chronograph wristwatch photographed close up

Speedtimer vs Chrono XL

Seiko Speedtimer vs Tissot Chrono XL

Two sapphire chronographs that cost little to keep. One runs on light and fits most wrists; the other is Swiss, thin and big.

By Sawyer V. · Published

The short answer

The Seiko Speedtimer SSC947 for most wrists: solar power, a 45.9mm lug-to-lug, three years of warranty and a published $163 service. The Tissot Chrono XL if you want a Swiss watch and have the wrist for 45mm — it is 11.02mm thick, with sapphire, 100m and a battery-life indicator.

The Speedtimer and the Chrono XL are the two chronographs on this site that combine sapphire, 100m and a movement that costs little to keep, and they are cross-shopped for exactly that reason. The difference is size and power: Seiko's runs on light in a case that fits most wrists; Tissot's is a Swiss quartz in a 45mm case that is 2mm thinner.

Side by side

Seiko Speedtimer SSC947Tissot Chrono XL
Case41.4mm, 45.9mm lug-to-lug45mm, lug-to-lug not published
Thickness13mm11.02mm
MovementV192 solar, ±15 sec/monthSwiss quartz, PowerDrive
PowerLight — six months on a full chargeBattery, end-of-life indicator
CrystalSapphireSapphire
Water resistance100m100m
Warranty3 years2 years
Lug width21mm22mm

On prices: we publish no figure we have not verified today, so every buy button reads "Check price on Amazon". Service prices quoted here are the manufacturers' own published figures.

How we picked

We have not worn these watches. What follows is what we checked instead, on documents you can open yourself — the same criteria, in the same order, on every roundup on this site. The full method is on the methodology page.

  1. 01Size

    Speedtimer 41.4mm, 45.9mm lug-to-lug, 13mm; Chrono XL 45mm and 11.02mm, lug-to-lug not published.

  2. 02Movement

    Seiko's V192 runs on light at ±15 seconds a month; Tissot's Swiss quartz runs on a battery with an end-of-life indicator.

  3. 03Warranty

    Seiko three years; Tissot two.

  4. 04Service

    Seiko lists V-series solar service at $163. Tissot publishes a US service price list.

  5. 05Strap

    21mm on the Seiko, an odd size; 22mm on the Tissot.

Disclosure · Some links below are Amazon affiliate links. If you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not decide what goes on this page or in what order — here is exactly how that works.

Quick picks

Ranked on the Keep Score below — six published specifications, weighted identically on every page. The last row is the one we would not buy.

#WatchBest forKeep ScorePrice
1

Tissot Chrono XL Classic 45mm T116.617.11.047.01

Sapphire, 100m, 11.02mm, 45mm, 22mm strap.

The Swiss choice, for a larger wrist7.9/10
Check price
2

Citizen World Chronograph A-T AT8020-54L

Solar, radio-controlled, sapphire, 200m, 43mm.

If you want neither: radio control7.9/10
Check price
3

Seiko Prospex Speedtimer Solar Chronograph SSC947

Solar, sapphire, 100m, 45.9mm lug-to-lug, $163 service.

The Speedtimer, for most wrists7.7/10
Check price
4

BOLDR Field Medic II

38mm titanium mecha-quartz, 200m.

If both are too big6.7/10
Direct only

Q Timex Chronograph 40mm TW2V42600

40mm quartz under acrylic, 50m, one year.

Skip this one

Not as the cheaper alternative5.6/10
Check price

Keep Score is arithmetic, not opinion — six published specifications, weighted the same way on every page. The formula is on our methodology page, so you can re-run it yourself.

01

Tissot Chrono XL Classic 45mm T116.617.11.047.01

Best for: The Swiss choice, for a larger wrist

7.9/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
1.6/2.5
Water resistance
1.1/1.5
Warranty
0.7/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
1/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

Swiss quartz with sapphire and 100m, 2mm thinner than the Seiko, on a standard 22mm strap, with an indicator that warns before the battery dies.

45mm across. It scores a fraction higher than the Seiko on our formula, mostly on the strap width; on most wrists the Seiko is the better fit.

Tissot publishes a US service price list, which almost no chronograph maker at this level does, and PowerDrive drives the hands back to zero electronically instead of through a column wheel. Cheap to keep, and 45mm across.

Manufacturer specifications for the Tissot Chrono XL Classic 45mm T116.617.11.047.01
MovementSwiss quartz chronograph, PowerDrive, with end-of-life battery indicator
Power reserveNot applicable
Case45mm 316l stainless steel
Lug-to-lugNot published
Thickness11.02mm
Lug width22mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance100m
Warranty2 years

Specifications read from Tissot product page, T116.617.11.047.01.

02

Citizen World Chronograph A-T AT8020-54L

Best for: If you want neither: radio control

7.9/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
1.4/2.5
Water resistance
1.5/1.5
Warranty
1.5/1.5
Strap standard
0.6/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
0.4/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

If you want the Speedtimer's light power and the Tissot's presence, Citizen's World Chronograph A-T adds radio-controlled time, a perpetual calendar and 200m behind sapphire, with five years of warranty.

43mm on a 23mm strap, and a module whose future depends on Citizen.

Sapphire, 200m, a perpetual calendar and a chronograph that runs on light — and a 23mm lug width, which is the least common strap size on this site. It is a module rather than a movement, so its long-term future depends on Citizen continuing to support the H800.

Manufacturer specifications for the Citizen World Chronograph A-T AT8020-54L
MovementCitizen H800 Eco-Drive, light-powered, atomic timekeeping with radio control in five zones, 1/20-second chronograph, perpetual calendar, power reserve indicator
Power reserveNot published
Case43mm two-tone stainless steel
Lug-to-lugNot published
ThicknessNot published
Lug width23mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance200m
Warranty5 years

Citizen's five-year limited warranty excludes the power cell, case, bracelet and strap.

Specifications read from Citizen Watch product page, AT8020-54L.

03

Seiko Prospex Speedtimer Solar Chronograph SSC947

Best for: The Speedtimer, for most wrists

7.7/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
1.4/2.5
Water resistance
1.1/1.5
Warranty
1.05/1.5
Strap standard
0.6/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
1/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

No battery to change, a power-reserve indicator, three years of warranty and a published $163 V-series service — and a 45.9mm lug-to-lug that fits wrists the Tissot overhangs.

The 21mm lug width costs you at strap time, and it is 2mm thicker than the Tissot.

Seiko lists V-series solar service at $163 — cheaper than a 4R36 overhaul and far cheaper than a mechanical chronograph. The 21mm lug width is the annoyance: standard straps come in 20 and 22.

Manufacturer specifications for the Seiko Prospex Speedtimer Solar Chronograph SSC947
MovementSeiko V192 solar chronograph, +/-15 sec per month, six-month run when fully charged
Power reserveNot published
Case41.4mm stainless steel
Lug-to-lug45.9mm
Thickness13mm
Lug width21mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance100m
Warranty3 years

Specifications read from Seiko Watch Corporation product page, SSC947.

04

BOLDR Field Medic II

Best for: If both are too big

6.7/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
1.5/2.5
Water resistance
1.5/1.5
Warranty
0/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
0.2/1
Sold direct by BOLDR

We earn nothing on this link. BOLDR sells it directly.

A 38mm titanium mecha-quartz chronograph with sapphire, 200m and a 44mm lug-to-lug — smaller than either.

BOLDR states no warranty term. Sold direct; we earn nothing on this link.

Mecha-quartz splits the difference honestly: quartz timekeeping, a mechanical chronograph reset, and a battery any shop stocks. The VK64 is a module — when it dies it is replaced, not rebuilt.

Manufacturer specifications for the BOLDR Field Medic II
MovementSeiko Instruments VK64 mecha-quartz, 394/SR936 battery
Power reserveNot applicable
Case38mm titanium
Lug-to-lug44mm
Thickness12.2mm
Lug width20mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance200m
WarrantyNot stated by the manufacturer

BOLDR does not state a warranty term on this product page.

Specifications read from BOLDR Supply Co. product page, Field Medic II.

Skip this one

Q Timex Chronograph 40mm TW2V42600

Best for: Not as the cheaper alternative

5.6/10

Keep Score

Crystal
1.8/2.5
Serviceability
1.6/2.5
Water resistance
0.6/1.5
Warranty
0.35/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
0.2/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

The Q Timex Chronograph is the obvious cheaper alternative to both, and it has real charm.

It gives up the two things that make these two worth buying: sapphire and 100m. Acrylic, 50m and a one-year warranty make it a different kind of watch, not a cheaper version of the same one.

A quartz chronograph at 40mm on an 18mm bracelet, with an acrylic crystal that polishes back when it scratches and a battery any shop can change. 50m and a one-year warranty are the limits.

Manufacturer specifications for the Q Timex Chronograph 40mm TW2V42600
MovementQuartz analog chronograph, SR927SW battery
Power reserveNot applicable
Case40mm stainless steel
Lug-to-lugNot published
Thickness13.5mm
Lug width18mm
Crystalacrylic
Water resistance50m
Warranty1 year

Timex states a one-year limited warranty covering defects in materials and workmanship on this product page.

Specifications read from Timex product page, TW2V42600.

Which to buy

  • The Speedtimer if your wrist is small to average, if you want nothing to maintain, or if a three-year warranty matters.
  • The Chrono XL if you want a Swiss watch, a thinner case and a standard 22mm strap, and you have the wrist for 45mm.

Both are cheaper to keep than any mechanical chronograph — the figures are here. For every sapphire chronograph ranked together, see chronographs with sapphire.

Questions people actually ask

Is the Seiko Speedtimer better than the Tissot Chrono XL?

For most wrists, yes: solar power, a 45.9mm lug-to-lug and three years of warranty. The Chrono XL is thinner, Swiss and on a standard 22mm strap, but 45mm across.

Which is thinner?

The Tissot Chrono XL, at 11.02mm against the Speedtimer's 13mm.

Does the Seiko Speedtimer need a battery?

No. The V192 is solar; Seiko states six months of running on a full charge, with a power-reserve indicator.

Which is cheaper to service?

Seiko lists V-series solar service at $163. Tissot publishes a US service price list; check the current figure for a quartz chronograph there.

Sources

Every specification and figure on this page came from one of these documents. Where a manufacturer does not publish something, the page says so rather than filling the gap.