Skip to content
Diving equipment in dark water

Divers under $1,000

Best dive watches under $1,000

Longer reserves, published accuracy figures and — on one watch here — a bezel insert that will neither fade nor chip.

By Sawyer V. · Published

The short answer

The Seiko Prospex Alpinist SPB317 is the strongest dive watch under $1,000: sapphire, a 200m diver's rating, a 70-hour 6R35 with a published accuracy tolerance, and a published $296 overhaul price.

This tier does not make a dive watch meaningfully more waterproof. What it adds is a longer power reserve, a published accuracy tolerance, better finishing, and — on one watch here — a bezel insert made of a material that will not degrade.

It also raises the running cost. Seiko's 6R overhaul is $296 against $176 for a 4R, which over twenty years is an extra $720 on top of the higher purchase price. Worth knowing before, not after.

On prices: we publish no figure we have not verified today, so every buy button reads "Check price on Amazon". Tier placement is our structural judgment, not a price claim.

How we picked

We have not worn these watches. What follows is what we checked instead, on documents you can open yourself — the same criteria, in the same order, on every roundup on this site. The full method is on the methodology page.

  1. 01Screw-down crown

    The crown stem is the largest hole in the case. A screw-down crown seals it mechanically rather than hopefully.

  2. 02Water resistance

    200m or better, and whether the dial carries the ISO 6425 "diver's" marking.

  3. 03Crystal

    Sapphire, hardlex or mineral. Divers get knocked more than any other style, because they are worn while doing things.

  4. 04Bezel insert

    Aluminum fades, ceramic chips and cannot be repaired, sapphire does neither.

  5. 05Serviceability

    A named, in-production caliber with parts an independent can obtain.

  6. 06Fit

    Lug-to-lug, because a 200m case is a large object and diameter alone will mislead you.

Disclosure · Some links below are Amazon affiliate links. If you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not decide what goes on this page or in what order — here is exactly how that works.

Quick picks

Ranked on the Keep Score below — six published specifications, weighted identically on every page. The last row is the one we would not buy.

#WatchBest forKeep ScorePrice
1

Seiko Prospex Alpinist SPB317J1

Sapphire, 200m diver's, 70 hours, published accuracy, published service price.

The most complete diver here9.6/10
Check price
2

Orient Kamasu RA-AA0004E39B

Sapphire, 200m and a screw-down crown for a fraction of the tier price.

The value pick that still belongs here9.0/10
Check price
3

Seiko Prospex Turtle SRPE93

A genuine 200m diver's rating on a $176 service path.

The cheapest ISO-marked diver, still8.4/10
Check price
4

Baltic Aquascaphe Classic

Sapphire crystal and a sapphire bezel insert — neither fades nor chips.

The best bezel insert on the site7.7/10
Direct only
5

BOLDR Venture Titanium 38mm

38mm titanium, sapphire, 200m and a 44mm lug-to-lug.

Titanium at a wearable size7.7/10
Direct only
6

Citizen Promaster Diver BN0200-56E

Super Titanium, light-powered, five years of warranty, no overhaul interval.

A 200m watch you will never service6.8/10
Check price

Spinnaker Bradner SP-5062-33

A tier-below watch that gets 15mm thick and 50mm across the lugs.

Skip this one

Nothing at this price8.0/10
Check price

Keep Score is arithmetic, not opinion — six published specifications, weighted the same way on every page. The formula is on our methodology page, so you can re-run it yourself.

01

Seiko Prospex Alpinist SPB317J1

Best for: The most complete diver here

9.6/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
2.5/2.5
Water resistance
1.5/1.5
Warranty
1.05/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
1/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

Sapphire instead of Hardlex, 70 hours instead of 41, and a published tolerance of +25 to -15 seconds a day — Seiko committing to a figure rather than a description.

41mm across, 46.9mm lug-to-lug and 12.3mm thick makes it unusually wearable for a 200m watch, and the $296 overhaul is knowable in advance.

This is where Seiko starts publishing an accuracy figure (+25/-15 seconds a day) and fits sapphire. A 6R35 overhaul is $296 against $176 for a 4R36 — a real difference, and one you can plan for.

Manufacturer specifications for the Seiko Prospex Alpinist SPB317J1
MovementSeiko 6R35, automatic with manual winding, 24 jewels, +25/-15 sec per day
Power reserve70 hours
Case41mm stainless steel
Lug-to-lug46.9mm
Thickness12.3mm
Lug width20mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance200m
Warranty3 years

Specifications read from Seiko Watch Corporation product page, SPB317J1.

02

Orient Kamasu RA-AA0004E39B

Best for: The value pick that still belongs here

9.0/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
2.5/2.5
Water resistance
1.5/1.5
Warranty
1.05/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
0.4/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

It is a tier-below watch that earns its place because the specifications that matter on a diver — sapphire, 200m, screw-down crown, unidirectional bezel — are identical to watches costing three times as much.

What you give up against the Seiko above is 30 hours of reserve, a published accuracy figure and a published service price. None of those affects whether the watch survives.

On paper this is the best value in the category and it is not close: sapphire and a hacking, hand-windable in-house caliber at a price where Seiko still fits Hardlex. Orient's three-year warranty is longer than Hamilton's or Tissot's.

Manufacturer specifications for the Orient Kamasu RA-AA0004E39B
MovementOrient F6922 in-house automatic, hand-winding, hacking
Power reserve40 hours
Case41.8mm stainless steel
Lug-to-lug46.8mm
Thickness12.8mm
Lug width22mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance200m
Warranty3 years

Specifications read from Orient Watch USA product page, RA-AA0004E39B.

03

Seiko Prospex Turtle SRPE93

Best for: The cheapest ISO-marked diver, still

8.4/10

Keep Score

Crystal
1.3/2.5
Serviceability
2.5/2.5
Water resistance
1.5/1.5
Warranty
1.05/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
1/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

Included in this tier deliberately, as the control: it does everything a dive watch structurally needs to do, for a fraction of what the rest of this page costs.

Hardlex is what you are trading away, and over twenty years that is a visible cost. A sapphire replacement at service time is a modest job and the usual mitigation.

Seiko rates this at 200m as a diver's watch, not merely water-resistant — screw-down crown, screw case back, unidirectional bezel. The 45mm figure is misleading: the cushion case has no protruding lugs.

Manufacturer specifications for the Seiko Prospex Turtle SRPE93
MovementSeiko 4R36, automatic with manual winding, 24 jewels
Power reserve41 hours
Case45mm stainless steel
Lug-to-lugNot published
Thickness13.4mm
Lug width22mm
Crystalhardlex
Water resistance200m
Warranty3 years

Specifications read from Seiko Watch Corporation product page, SRPE93.

04

Baltic Aquascaphe Classic

Best for: The best bezel insert on the site

7.7/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
2.5/2.5
Water resistance
1.5/1.5
Warranty
0/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
0.2/1
Sold direct by Baltic

We earn nothing on this link. Baltic sells this watch itself.

Aluminum inserts fade and ceramic inserts chip and cannot be repaired. Sapphire does neither, and on a small brand where the insert is model-specific, that removes the most likely way this watch becomes cosmetically finished.

39mm and 47mm lug-to-lug on a Miyota 9039 — current production, universally serviceable. Baltic states no warranty term and sells direct; we earn nothing on this link.

The sapphire bezel insert is the part that matters for keeping: aluminum inserts fade and ceramic chips, and this does neither. Baltic sells direct, so there is no buy button here from us.

Manufacturer specifications for the Baltic Aquascaphe Classic
MovementMiyota 9039 automatic
Power reserve42 hours
Case39mm 316l stainless steel
Lug-to-lug47mm
Thickness13mm
Lug width20mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance200m
WarrantyNot stated by the manufacturer

Baltic does not state a warranty term on this product page.

Specifications read from Baltic Watches product page, Aquascaphe Classic.

05

BOLDR Venture Titanium 38mm

Best for: Titanium at a wearable size

7.7/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
2.5/2.5
Water resistance
1.5/1.5
Warranty
0/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
0.2/1
Sold direct by BOLDR

We earn nothing on this link. BOLDR sells this watch itself.

The tightest lug-to-lug ratio on the site for a 200m watch, in titanium, which also removes the weight problem a diver usually brings with it.

The NH38A is the industry's workhorse. Sold direct, no stated warranty term, and we earn nothing here.

The NH38A is the movement every independent watchmaker already knows, which is the whole serviceability argument in one line. A 44mm lug-to-lug on a 38mm case is about as wearable as a 200m watch gets.

Manufacturer specifications for the BOLDR Venture Titanium 38mm
MovementSeiko Instruments NH38A automatic
Power reserveNot published
Case38mm titanium
Lug-to-lug44mm
Thickness12mm
Lug width20mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance200m
WarrantyNot stated by the manufacturer

BOLDR does not state a warranty term on this product page.

Specifications read from BOLDR Supply Co. product page, Venture.

06

Citizen Promaster Diver BN0200-56E

Best for: A 200m watch you will never service

6.8/10

Keep Score

Crystal
1/2.5
Serviceability
1.4/2.5
Water resistance
1.5/1.5
Warranty
1.5/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
0.4/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

Citizen's Super Titanium is surface-hardened, which addresses the usual objection to titanium — plain titanium marks more easily than steel and this does not.

The mineral crystal on a 44mm dial is the cost, and on a diver it is the specification most likely to disappoint you in year eight.

Citizen's Super Titanium is surface-hardened, which is the point — plain titanium marks more easily than steel, and this does not. It is the closest thing on this list to a watch you can stop thinking about.

Manufacturer specifications for the Citizen Promaster Diver BN0200-56E
MovementCitizen E168 Eco-Drive, light-powered
Power reserveNot published
Case44mm super titanium
Lug-to-lugNot published
ThicknessNot published
Lug width22mm
Crystalmineral
Water resistance200m
Warranty5 years

Citizen's five-year limited warranty excludes the power cell, case, bracelet and strap.

Specifications read from Citizen Watch product page, BN0200-56E.

Skip this one

Spinnaker Bradner SP-5062-33

Best for: Nothing at this price

8.0/10

Keep Score

Crystal
2.5/2.5
Serviceability
2.5/2.5
Water resistance
1.1/1.5
Warranty
0.7/1.5
Strap standard
1/1
Cost-to-keep transparency
0.2/1
Check price on Amazon

#ad Affiliate link · We publish no price we have not verified today

At its own price the Bradner is a reasonable buy with a stated two-year warranty and a sapphire crystal, and it appears on our [under $500 page](/styles/dive-watches/best-under-500) for that reason.

In this tier it is outclassed. 15mm thick and 50mm lug-to-lug is a very large watch, the movement is described only as "Japanese automatic" with no caliber named, and 18 ATM is below the 200m the rest of this page manages.

For similar money the Baltic above gives you a sapphire bezel insert, a named Miyota caliber and a 47mm lug-to-lug.

Sapphire and a stated two-year warranty at this price is a good trade. 15mm thick and 50mm across the lugs is not — this is a big watch, and the spec sheet says so plainly.

Manufacturer specifications for the Spinnaker Bradner SP-5062-33
MovementJapanese automatic, three hands with date
Power reserveNot published
Case42mm stainless steel
Lug-to-lug50mm
Thickness15mm
Lug width20mm
Crystalsapphire
Water resistance180m
Warranty2 years

Spinnaker states a two-year international warranty on this product page.

Specifications read from Spinnaker product page, SP-5062-33.

What the extra money buys on a diver

Under $500Under $1,000
200m and a screw-down crownYesYes
Sapphire crystalYes, on severalYes
Power reserve40-41 hours70-72 hours
Published accuracyNoYes, on Seiko 6R
Sapphire bezel insertNoBaltic only
Published service priceSeiko onlySeiko only

One row in that table bears on whether the watch survives, and it is the bezel insert. Everything else is refinement. That is the honest account of this tier for a diver specifically.

Keeping a diver alive

  • Check the crown is screwed down before anything wet. Every time.
  • Rinse in fresh water after the sea. Salt crystallizes around the crown and under the bezel.
  • Never operate the crown or the bezel underwater.
  • Get the gaskets replaced every few years — $60 at Tissot, €60 at Hamilton. Water resistance is not permanent and Seiko says so in its own documentation.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best dive watch under $1,000?

The Seiko Prospex Alpinist SPB317 — sapphire, a 200m diver's rating, a 70-hour 6R35 with a published accuracy tolerance, and a published $296 overhaul price.

Is a $900 dive watch more waterproof than a $300 one?

No. Both use screw-down crowns and screwed case backs and both are limited by the same thing: gaskets that age. A $60 partial service every few years does more for water resistance than the price difference.

Why does a sapphire bezel insert matter?

Because aluminum inserts fade and ceramic inserts chip without being repairable, and on a small brand the insert is a model-specific part. Sapphire neither fades nor chips, which removes a common way an otherwise healthy diver becomes finished.

Should I buy the cheaper Seiko or the more expensive one?

The Turtle if predictable ownership cost matters most — $176 published overhaul. The SPB317 if you want sapphire, a 70-hour reserve and a published accuracy figure, and can accept a $296 overhaul instead.

Sources

Every specification and figure on this page came from one of these documents. Where a manufacturer does not publish something, the page says so rather than filling the gap.